Movies and me


I have been a hindi movie fan for as long as I could remember. It all started with watching every single weekend evening show on DD that came with one interval and no ad-breaks. I think it went on till 1992, after which commercial breaks between movies debuted. It mostly used to show black and white movies, and just to drive the message home, a scroll with “Black and White” and “Shweat Shyam” written used to run on the top of the screen. That was my introduction to Raj Kapur, Dev Anand, Dilip Kimar, Nargis, Madhubala, and a rare treat of a colored movie meant Dharmender, Sanjiv Kumar, Rajender Kumar, Shammi Kapoor, Sharmila Tagore, and Hema Malini.

Then DD Metro debuted and black and white movies became rarer. That was the time when Shashi Kapoor, Jeetender, Dharam in his Garam avatar, Rishi Kapoor, an occasional Shatrughan Sinha, an eagerly anticipated Amitabh Bachhan, and 80s vintage Mithun and Govinda began to appear more and more often. But it was all a treat, not more because they appeared only twice a week, but also because the movie, its action, story, suspense, the fights were all discussed on the way to school on a Monday morning. The excitement of grabbing the Sunday newspaper, turning on to the second page and finding which movie will play today was matched only by waking up at 6 o’ clock rubbing your eyes and running out to play gully cricket.

And then cable TV appeared, and it with its deluge of movies, all new and old, killed the romance. Your favorite movie might be playing on a channel, but an ad-break 2 minutes later will make you flick away and in 5 minutes you will forget about it. This was not the case when I was growing up; a movie had to be seen, a good movie had to be seen even if it meant studying late in the night for an exam next day, it was to be discussed, dissected, analysed, sometimes played out over and over in your mind.  The lack of choice was a good thing. It meant watching Mere Mehboob, and wondering why the hell are your mom and grandma shedding tears, it meant getting excited on a Shammi Kapoor movie because you know the first half would be funny no matter what, it meant eagerly waiting for AB to kick some ass.  It also meant (and Im confessing it now) stealing guilty glances at Sharmila Tagore in Kashmir ki Kali, getting lost in Madhubala’s smile in Kala Paani, and not being sure of what to do when Helen appears in a cabaret number (yaaa..those were the days!!!).

With so many memories associated with Hindi movies, they had to be a part of this blog. So I in my arbit induced enthusiasm began working on some of the best bolly movies I have seen. And I thought why not list and talk about the best comic Hindi movies? Why comic you ask, I don’t know it was an arbit decision. Could have been romantic, or suspense but comic it is for now. So after over 4 hrs of arguing with myself I came up with a list of 10 best comic movies I have seen. So starting from today I promise to myself that I will write about these 10 movies with the same passion that I have enjoyed them, and if I’m not able to keep that promise, then who cares it’s a promise to me and I can break it if my arbit desires.

P.S: I use arbit as both a noun and adjective. Go figure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies and me

  1. memsaab says:

    You are off to a great start, love the arbit-enthu! 🙂 Seriously, DD would scroll “black and white” across the screen in case you hadn’t already figured it out? That’s hilarious.

    • Arbitenthu says:

      Thanks a lot Memsaab!!! I suppose at that time (late 80s,early90s), there were not many color TV sets around in India, and DD just wanted to assure people that their sets are working fine, its the movie that’s in B&W 🙂

Leave a Reply

